End Your Productivity Anxiety Right Now By Finding Balance In This Way

Stop measuring your self-worth by how “productive” you are and notice that even sitting on the couch can be adding to your growth in some way.

Nicole McIntyre
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

Productivity anxiety is actually the anti-thesis of productivity. Ever worry that you’re so behind everybody else and waste so much time doing things that are taking away from your end goal or stalling your progress?

We tend to believe that productivity is optimizing every hour of our days so we are improving in some way, but we have it all wrong. This just makes us feel bad about ourselves and is detrimental to not only our health, but also to achieving our goals.

Does this sound familiar?

I used to think that nothing was worth even doing if it wasn’t contributing to my self-growth or success. I would hold resentment over boring conversations, impatience of waiting in line at the grocery store, or annoyed that friends wanted to hang out. It was all a waste of time.

I’d wake up in the morning and ignore my mom as I’d hastily get ready, grab breakfast to go and head out the door. But, as Rupi Kaur puts it in Home Body: “isn’t the dream that I have a mother to call and a table to eat breakfast…

--

--