Here’s What I Learned From Reading 9 Addiction Recovery Books I’ve Read

Following my sobriety journey and the main ideas that help me along the way

Nicole McIntyre
9 min readMar 4, 2021
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I thought about getting sober for over a decade before I managed to, right from when I first started dabbling in drugs and alcohol. Let’s be real though, it was never dabbling, it was a problem from the start.

Some people may take a long time to develop an addiction or to reap consequences from drinking or using, but for me there were signs from the first cigarette, first marijuana joint, first sip of alcohol and first line or pill, that substance abuse was going to wind up being life or death for me.

I did drugs with such an anxious urgency to get outside myself. My brain told me if a little was good, more was even better.

I didn’t realize how long I had been suffering in my addictions until I looked back on old journals and noticed that I always had a desire to quit smoking, drinking and using drugs. When I finally quit everything at once, I thought I just had enough and didn’t enjoy getting fucked up anymore, but the truth was I never enjoyed it and it was never something I actually ever wanted to do and definitely not who I wanted to be.

--

--